Chapter 15: 2+1=3

Tuesday, summer 2009.

It was quicker than I’ve ever imagined. I know every mother say their children grow older too fast, but until it happens in front of your eyes, you don’t have a clue about what fast really means.

Taking turns

Putting the twins to bed

It seems like it was yesterday that I came back from the hospital with two tiny baby girls, but, in fact, it’s been ages… ages without a full night sleep, ages from the times when Antonia and Clara could only sleep, cry and poop. Now, my baby girls are crawling all around the house and even babbling their first words.

But they are still so demanding! Specially Antonia, who wakes up to the smallest noise and cries as hard as her lungs allow her. I don’t know from whom she got this fear of the dark, since neither Leighton nor I remember having night terrors when we’re kids. Besides her fretful character, Antonia is mama and papa’s girl. She has my light brown eyes and Leighton’s dark hair. She’s also very active and I wouldn’t be surprise if ended following her father’s path and entering some sports career.

Inside the toy box

Eating

Clara tends to be more calm and sweet. Her hair hasn’t grew yet and it only highlights her big ash-colored eyes, a heritage from the oriental side of the family. She prefer to stay inside the nursery walls and just started exploring the house after I moved her favorite toy to the living room. Yes, she definitely has a favorite one. She can’t be much time apart from her xylophone. First, she sticks the mallets on her mouth and, when they’re wet enough, she begins playing… and goes on and on for hours. Sometimes I annoyed by the acute sound of the instrument and I have to hide it from her. When I do that, Clara seems a bit lost… but ends surrendering and goes playing either with the pink rabbit plush or with the blocks. Oooh, but when the xylophone is back… it’s paradise on Earth for toddler Clara!

Learning to talk

Clara's first symphony

Despite the tremendous work they give, the girls themselves are the paradise on Earth for Leighton and I. Just after the twins were born, he confessed he would have liked to have at least one boy. But watching these two develop their bodies and characters has certainly eased his fear of raising girls. Even when arriving tired from work, he manages to find energy to snuggle the girls and help them getting better on their walking and talking skills.

Caring father

One could say that I’m certainly lucky for having such an active husband. It’s obvious that I like it, but I’m unsure if I’m ready for changing the long distance race that is raising twins for the marathon that is raising three kids. Anyway, it’s a bit too late to regret that extra activities Leighton and I were having in our bedroom after Antonia and Clara were finally asleep.

Calling the stork again...

Pregnant again

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Chapter 15: 2+1=3

  1. tipix7 says:

    I love the nursery, so cute!

    • jurocha says:

      Redecorating is what prevents me from going crazy! How did you manage to raise three kids?! Twins are driving me nuts! Antonia, a light sleeper, cries a lot!!!!

      • tipix7 says:

        Well 2 out of the 3 were loners, and Gizi was off work from when they were born till they were almost teens. I have to admit keeping up with what they do is a task though.

  2. Jessi says:

    Just found your legacy frm your post on the sims 3 legacy site. Very entertaining!

    • jurocha says:

      I’m glad you liked it, Jessi. 🙂 Right now, I’m going crazy (and Brigida stir crazy) in game thanks to so many babies around! Feedback from readers is always encouraging to keep on this legacy. Thank you for the visit.

Leave a Reply

